Skip to content

It’s Election Day in Sidney: Here’s everything you need to know

9 candidates running for 6 councillor seats
Town of Sidney municipal hall. (Black Press Media file photo)

It’s election day in Sidney with polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.


In the Town of Sidney, Mayor Cliff McNeil-Smith will be acclaimed with no opposition. Nine candidates are running for six councillor positions including

Eric Diller, Steve Duck, Sara Duncan, Scott Garnett, Cam McLennan, Richard Novek, Terri O’Keeffe, Steve Price and Chad Rintoul.

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: Those seeking council seats in Sidney weigh in

The Saanich School District (SD63) is split into three areas with a total of seven school trustees elected.

Tim Dunford and Susan Hickman were unopposed for Central Saanich’s two seats. For the Saanich side of SD63 (which includes a portion of Highlands) Joyce Vandall and Teri VanWell were unopposed – after a third candidate withdrew – to fill those two seats. Nola Silzer also ran unopposed and will fill Sidney’s seat.

That leaves three candidates – Keven Elder, Elsie McMurphy and Cheryl Wenezenki-Yolland – vying for North Saanich’s two seats at the table.

READ MORE: It’s Election Day in Greater Victoria: Here’s what you need to know about school trustees

How to vote:

The Mary Winspear Centre, 2243 Beacon Ave., is open to voters from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

To learn more about how to vote, click here.

READ MORE: 2022 Election Coverage

What happens once polls close?

Polls are open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. Once they close, the results will be tallied and released. Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results once polls close.


Do you have a story tip? Email:

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.

if (VM.Track.getDimensions().CategoryName == "Obituaries" && VM.Track.getDimensions().Id) { document.querySelector('.fb-comments-trigger').setAttribute("data-appid", "122141995084732") }