Lucky 13 vie for Central Saanich council seats

Thirteen people have put their names forward for six available seats on Central Saanich council.

Running for re-election are councillors John Garrison, Adam Olsen, Susan Mason and Terry Siklenka; hoping to add the title councillor to their names are Liam Cooper, Carl Jensen, Zeb King, James McNulty, Cathie Ounsted, Wayne Spencer, Sue Stroud, Robert Thompson and Ryan Windsor.

Both King and Thompson have prior council experience, while Ounsted has been a member of Central Saanich's Police Board.

Running for mayor are Christopher Graham and former councillor Alastair Bryson. Although Thompson had previously declared he was going after the mayor's chair, when Bryson decided to run for mayor, he deferred and will run for a council seat instead.

For the two available school trustee positions, three locals have entered the race: Nick Claxton, Timothy Dunford and James Taylor.

Voting for mayor, council and school trustees in Central Saanich takes place Nov. 19. Advance Voting is on Wednesday, Nov. 9 and 16 at the Municipal Hall between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. General voting day Saturday, Nov. 19, at the municipal hall or the Cultural Centre between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event